May Concerts

Published: April 13, 2024

For our concerts on the 14th and 16th May, we are delighted to welcome Sarah Williamson, clarinet and Viv Maclean, piano.

On Tuesday May 14thth, the Sarah and Viv will present works by Francis Poulenc, Frédéric Chopin, Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms.

 On Thursday May 16th the programme includes works by Joseph Horovitz, Carl Maria v. Weber, Johannes Brahms and Georges Gershwin.  

Sarah WILLIAMSON achieved international fame following her success in the BBC Young Musician Competition 2002, playing the Copland Clarinet Concerto with the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir Andrew Davis. Sarah went on to win second prize in the Eurovision Competition for Young Musicians in Berlin, again playing the Copland Concerto, this time with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra conducted by Marek Janowsky. Sarah continued her studies at Le Conservatoire Supérieur de Musique et de Dance de Paris, graduating with a Premier Prix. As a soloist, Sarah has performed at many of the world’s major concert halls.


For concert bookings please send an e-mail to .

Entry donation including refreshments is €30 per person for guests and non-members, payable in advance by bank transfer (see our website ).

Amigos de Música concerts at OS AGOSTOS begin at 7.00pm.
Gates open at 6.00pm and wine, fruit juices and canapés will be served.
Entry donation including refreshments is €30 per person for guests and non-members.
To make your reservations send an email to:


Tuesday May 14, 2024


Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)

5 Bagatelles

  1. Prelude
  2. Romance
  3. Carol
  4. Forlana
  5. Fughetta


Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)

Sonata  FP 184

  1. Allegro tristamente
  2. Romanza
  3. Allegro con fuoco


Frédéric Chopin  (1810-1858)

Waltz Op. 34 No. 2,

Viv McLean, piano solo


André Messager (1853-1929)

Solo de Concours,  Contest piece for clarinet




Robert Schumann (1810-1856)


  1. Zart und mit Ausdruck
  2. Lebhaft, leicht
  3. Rasch und mit Feuer


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Sonata nr. 1 in F minor op. 120

  1. Allegro appassionato
  2. Andante un poco adagio
  3. Allegretto grazioso
  4. Vivace




Thursday May 16th 2024


Léo Weiner (1885-1960)

‘Peregi Verbunk’,  Op. 40


Joseph Horovitz  (1926-2022)


  1. Allegro Calmato
  2. Lento, quasi Andante
  3. Con brio


Carl Maria von Weber  (1786-1826)

Grand Duo Concertant, Op. 48 in Eb Major op 48

  1. Allegro con fuoco
  2. Andante con moto
  3. Rondo : Allegro




Johannes Brahms   (1833-1897)

Sonata No. 2, op 120 in Eb major for clarinet and piano

  1. Allegro amabile
  2. Allegro appassionato
  3. Andante con moto


Georges Gershwin (1898-1937)

Rhapsody in Blue

Viv McLean, piano solo


Georges Gershwin

3 preludes, arranged for clarinet and piano

  1. Allegro ben ritmico e deciso
  2. Andante con moto e poco rubato
  3. Allegro ben ritmico e deciso




Related Content