October Concerts

Published: September 24, 2019

Tuesday October 15th and Thursday October 17th at 7.00 pm

For concert bookings please send an e-mail to: reservasconcertos@gmail.co

Agate Darashkaite
Joana Viera Shumova
Mikhail Shumov

AUTUMN TRIO: Joana Vieira Shumova, piano, Agate Darashkaite, violin and Mikhail Shumov, cello

Tuesday, October 15,

Reinhold Glière (1875 – 1956)

8 Pieces for violin and cello op. 39 (selection)                       

  1. Prelude
  2. Gavotte
  3. Berceuse
  4. Canzonetta

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)

Sonata for violin and piano in G minor                                               

  1. Allegro vivo
  2. Intermède: fantasque et léger
  3. Finale: très animé

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873 – 1943)

Trio élégiaque n. 1 in op. posth. in G minor                                   


Antonin Dvorak (1841 – 1904)

Piano Trio in e minor “Dumky”, op. 90 B116                                   

  1. Lento maestoso – Allegro quasi doppio movimento
  2. Poco adagio – Vivace non troppo – Vivace
  3. Andante – Vivace non troppo – Allegretto
  4. Andante moderato – Allegretto scherzando – Quasi tempo di marcia
  5. Allegro
  6. Lento maestoso

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Reinhold Glière (1875 – 1956)

8 Pieces for violin and cello op. 39 (selection)                                   

  • Etude
  • Intermezzo
  • Impromptu
  • Scherzo

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)

Sonata for cello and piano in G minor                                               

  1. Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto
  2. Sérénade: Modérément animé
  3. Finale: Animé, léger et nerveux

Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856)

Phantasiestücke op. 88                                                                       

  1.     Romance
  2. Humoreske
  3. Duett
  4. Finale


Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)

Piano Trio n. 1 op. 8                                                                       

  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Scherzo. Allegro molto
  3. Adagio
  4. Finale. Allegro

The Autumn Trio consists of Agata Daraskaite, violin, Mikhail Shumov, cello and Joana Vieira Shumova, piano.

Agata Daraskaite is a Lithuanian-Polish violinist who moved to England when she was 14.  She graduated from the Royal College of Music with distinction and two special prizes.  These included the Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother Rosebowl presented to her by Charles, Prince of Wales.  For much of the past five years Agata was a member of the Kremerate Baltica Chamber Orchestra which toured Europe, the Middle and Far East, and South and North America. Recent highlights include appearances in the BBC Proms and chamber music projects in Hungary, Malta, Spain and Portugal.

Mikhail Shumov was born in Moscow where he commenced his musical studies. He graduated with distinction from the Royal College of Music in 2012 winning one of the major prizes for cellists.  He has performed as a soloist and a chamber musician in Russia, Switzerland, UK, Japan, Germany, Austria, Italy, Spain, Tunisia and Canada.  Mikhail is currently working as the principal cellist of the Orquestra Clássica do Sul.

Joana Vieira Shumova is from Portugal where she commenced her initial piano studies.  She continued at the Royal College of Music in London having been awarded a scholarship for Artistic Development by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation.  Joana graduated with honors in 2010 with a Masters in Performance and obtained her artistic diploma the following year.  She has won several prizes including the Frank Merrick Prize for the best interpretation of a British composer at the “Piano Contemporary Music Competition” at the RCM.  Joana and Mikhail Shumov also play together as the Caminus Duo.

Amigos de Música concerts at Os Agostos begin at 7.00pm sharp.  Doors open at 6.00pm and wine, fruit juices and canapés will be served. There will also be a short interval with refreshments served. Entry donation is €25 per person for guests and non-members.

The AMIGOS DE MÚSICA is an international group of around 90 members who stage musical activities by internationally renowned musicians and also sponsor young Portuguese musicians. It is a non-profit organization and celebrated its twenty-eighth anniversary last year. 

Os Agostos is an impressive XVlll century country estate located above Santa Bárbara de Nexe and near Bordeira. For navigation instructions go to: http://www.osagostos.com and then to “HOW TO GET THERE”.

Related Content


Tuesday, June 27th and Thursday, June 29th, 2023CANCELLED Due to an unexpected illness of our artist, Lucy Parnham, we...

read more

May Concerts

All concerts will take place in the auditorium at Os Agostos. Doors will open at 6.00pm and the concert will begin at...

read more